Holland District Ruritans

Fellowship. Goodwill. Community Service.

Born:   7/31/1921

Died:  9/13/1985




  • Registration Chairman for the Ruritan National Convention

Holland District

  • District Governor – 1967
  • Zone Governor

Deep Creek Club

  • President

Ruritan Awards

  • Outstanding Service to the Community Award
  • Ruritan National Award for School Instruction



  • He organized the Deep Creek Volunteer Fire Department and Rescue Squad and was its first President.
  • Treasurer and Board Member of the Chesapeake Chamber of Commerce.
  • Chesapeake Citizens’ Advisory Board Member
  • Member of the Board of Trustees of the Chesapeake – Portsmouth Foundation and on the first Chesapeake Jubilee Committee.
  • Member of the Executive Committee of the First Anniversary Festival of Chesapeake Committee in 1965
  • Member of the Deep Creek United Methodist church and its Administrative Board.
  • Past President of the Police Association of Virginia and a member of the Fraternal Order of Police Associates.
  • Member of the Disabled American Veterans, Chapter 26.
  • Past Commander of American Legion Post 37 and a member of its Forty plus Eight Club.
  • Past president of the National Association of Postmaster, he had served for 3 years as the secretary/treasurer of the Virginia Chapter of Postmasters.


Professional Experience

  • Served as the Chesapeake postmaster 1964-1985
  • He was responsible for centralizing Chesapeake’s postal system in Great Bridge.


  • World War II Army Veteran

Community Awards

  • 1968:  He was chosen First Citizen of Chesapeake by the Great Bridge Jaycees.

[Source:  Lebanon News, Volume 104, Number 6167, 18 September 1985]